Software directory

Best Knowledge Base Software: 12 tools compared for 2026

Knowledge base software stores help articles, FAQs, how-tos and procedures in a searchable library for customers (external) or employees (internal). It reduces repeat support tickets and keeps teams working from one source of truth.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Tools compared
12
Publish prices
9 of 12
Free plan or trial
9 of 12
Median G2 rating
4.6

Knowledge Base Software at a glance

Knowledge Base Software, sorted by number of G2 reviews
ToolBest forPricing modelStarting priceG2 rating
NotionStartups and small teams combining wiki and project tracking.per userFree; Plus $10 per member per month billed annually4.6 (10,967 reviews)
ZendeskSupport teams that want a broad omnichannel suite with a regional data hosting option.per agent$19 per agent/month billed annually (Support Team)4.3 (7,001 reviews)
ConfluenceTeams already on Jira or Jira Service Management.per userFree up to 10 users; Standard about $5.42 per user per month billed annually4.1 (4,233 reviews)
FreshdeskSMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan.per agent$19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth)4.4 (3,750 reviews)
GuruSales and support teams needing verified answers in Slack, browser and chat.customContact sales4.7 (2,344 reviews)
BloomfireMid-size and enterprise teams that want a company-wide Q&A and knowledge library with search as the main feature.custom (fixed price by scope)Contact sales4.6 (509 reviews)
Document360Product and SaaS documentation teams needing public and private KBs.customContact sales4.7 (501 reviews)
Help ScoutSmall support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs.per userFree up to 5 users; Standard $25 per user/month4.4 (428 reviews)
HelpjuiceTeams that want predictable flat monthly cost.flat$249 per month (Knowledge Base, up to 30 users)4.7 (380 reviews)
SliteSmall and mid-size teams wanting an AI search wiki at a published price.per user$10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)4.6 (271 reviews)
TettraSmall and mid-size teams living in Slack that want a cheap internal wiki.per user$8 per user/month (Scaling, 10-user minimum)4.7 (159 reviews)
NuclinoSmall teams wanting a simple, fast wiki with a free plan.per userFree (up to 50 items); paid prices not stated4.7 (24 reviews)

Prices as published by each vendor on October 24, 2026. "Contact sales" means no public price. G2 ratings read on the same day.

Security and contract checklist for knowledge base software

Admin, security and contract terms as published, checked October 24, 2026
ToolSAML SSOSCIM provisioningAudit logsData residencyContractSupport
NotionBusiness and Enterprise (SAML)Enterprise.Enterprise.Enterprise only; regions not named.Monthly plan available.Not published
ZendeskAmbiguous on pricing table; enterprise details not published.Not publishedNot shown on Support Team, Suite Team or Suite Professional.US, AU, JP and EEA via Data Center Location add-on.Month-to-month, annual and multi-year available.Business-hours digital support included; Premier 24/7 is an add-on.
ConfluenceVia Atlassian Guard subscription (separate); tier disputed by sources.Via Atlassian Guard; SSO must be configured first.Not publishedEnterprise example in third-party source; Atlassian lists expanded residency coverage (Valiantys)Mostly annual upfront.Community on Free; 9/5 Standard; 24/7 Premium and Enterprise.
FreshdeskSAML SSO on all plans.Not publishedEnterprise only.Not stated by the vendor; hosted on AWS.Monthly option exists; cancellation effective at end of term.Support tiers not stated by the vendor.
GuruSAML SSO offered (security page); plan not stated, pricing page lists it under enterprise governance.SCIM offered; plan not stated.Listed under enterprise governance.Not stated; AWS with DR in separate region.Quote via sales call.Not published
Document360Available; plan not stated.Available; plan not stated.Not publishedNot publishedQuote-based.Dedicated success manager for every customer.
Help ScoutPro includes SSO/SAML; add-on on lower tiers.Not publishedNot publishedAWS, region not published.Not publishedEmail on Free/Standard; priority email on Plus and Pro; strategic account manager on Pro.
HelpjuiceListed on AI-Knowledge Base ($449) and Unlimited ($799); not listed on the $249 plan (a third party says SAML is on all plans, unverified)Not supported per third-party Stitchflow.Not publishedNot publishedCancel anytime per pricing page; nonprofit and education discounts on request.Not published
SlitePro and up (OpenID/external IdP); security page also says enforced external-IdP SSO on Knowledge Suite and Enterprise.Enterprise.Enterprise.EU (Google Cloud, St. Ghislain, Belgium); other regions not published.Monthly or yearly; 14-day trial.Priority support and dedicated account manager on Enterprise.
TettraPaid add-on on Scaling; included in Enterprise.Paid add-on on Scaling; included in Enterprise.Not publishedNot publishedMonthly or yearly; 30-day trial; invoicing and ACH/wire on higher plans per FAQ.Not published
NuclinoBusiness (SAML 2.0)Not publishedBusiness.Not publishedMonthly or yearly; custom for 100+ users.Not published

Which plan includes SSO, SCIM and audit logs often decides the real price. "Not published" means the vendor's public pages do not say; ask before you sign.

How to compare knowledge base software

  • Authoring and editing experience. Easy editing decides whether content stays current.
  • Search and AI answers. Findability drives deflection; AI search is now a differentiator.
  • Internal vs public access control. Separates employee wiki from customer help center.
  • Versioning and review workflows. Approvals and history keep content accurate.
  • Analytics and content gaps. Shows failed searches and article performance.
  • Help desk and chat integrations. Links articles to tickets, chat and Slack.
  • Pricing model. Per author, per agent or per project pricing changes cost.
  • Target company size. Wiki tools and enterprise KM suites serve different scales.
Knowledge Base Software by buying criteria
ToolAuthoring and editing experienceSearch and AI answersInternal vs public access controlVersioning and review workflowsAnalytics and content gapsHelp desk and chat integrationsPricing modelTarget company size
NotionBlock editor with databases and docs.Notion AI bundled in Business and Enterprise (third party); Free/Plus limited trial.Workspaces, teamspaces, guests (10 on Free); SAML SSO Business+, SCIM Enterprise.Page history (7 days on Free)Not verifiedSlack link previews, GitHub and Jira embeds noted; no native help desk.Per member per month; yearly saves up to 20%.Two-thirds of G2 reviews from small business; Enterprise tier for large orgs.
ZendeskNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedPer agent plus per-resolution AI fees and add-ons.Tiers from Support Team to Enterprise.
ConfluenceReal-time collaborative editing with inline and page comments.Advanced search, labels and hierarchy; Rovo AI summarizes and explains jargon (Standard and up per third party)Page and space permissions for users, groups and anonymous from Standard.Page history, compare and revert on Free.Page insights on Standard; site, space and page analytics on Premium.Jira, Jira Service Management, Trello and Marketplace apps; Slack not named on features page.Per user per month, annual, tiered by user count.Teams of all sizes; Free to 10 users, Enterprise for large deployments (up to 150 sites)
FreshdeskNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedConnector app tasks $80 per 5,000.Per agent plus AI session packs.SMB to mid-market tiers.
GuruCard-based knowledge with verification; details not confirmed.Knowledge Agents and AI search, cited permission-aware answers, MCP delivery.Role-based access, SSO, SCIM, audit logs (enterprise governance)Verification workflow not confirmed.Not verified100+ integrations (vendor page)Custom platform quote, includes solution engineering team.Mid-size to enterprise.
BloomfireNot verifiedG2 reviewers highlight search and discovery (AI-written G2 summary)Not verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedFixed quote based on scope, no user counts or consumption charges.Sales-led; quote includes onboarding and content migration scoping.
Document360Collaborative editing and Custom Workflow Builder; editor types not detailed on features page.Eddy AI features included in plans; AI Chatbot sold as add-on.Public, private or mixed KB; reader accounts for private KBs; SSO, SCIM, IP restriction, roles.Custom Workflow Builder with reviewers.Pro Analytics listed; failed-search reporting not confirmed.Connects to third-party help desks, chatbots and collaboration tools (specific names not listed by the vendor)Custom quote by team accounts, workspaces, languages, SSO and AI usage.SMB to enterprise software documentation teams (inferred from dedicated success manager and SSO/SCIM)
Help ScoutNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedSalesforce, Jira, HubSpot on Plus.Per user plus per-resolution AI.Under 25 users on Standard; Pro for larger.
HelpjuiceWYSIWYG editor with tables, custom HTML, drag-and-drop media, real-time editing and comments.AI-powered search with 'Ask AI', searches PDFs and images (AI plans)Restrict by URL, IP, user or group; four user role levels; SSO via Okta, Azure AD, Auth0.Version history with compare and restore; approval process for drafts.Reports on article impact, search terms, top topics and user activity.100+ integrations incl. Slack, Salesforce, Zendesk, Zapier, Teams, Freshdesk; API and Chrome extension.Flat monthly fee tiered by user cap (30, 100, unlimited)Small teams to large organizations (unlimited-user tier)
SliteNot verifiedAsk AI search on all paid plans; Agent and cross-tool search on Pro.Enforced SSO and external IdPs on higher plans; public docs on custom domain (Pro)Doc verification workflow on Basic.Not verifiedMCP and API access on Basic; search across connected tools on Pro.Per user per month.G2: 64.4% of reviewers at companies of 50 or fewer.
TettraNot verifiedAI answers and AI bot in Slack included on Scaling.Group permissions require the SCIM add-on.Not verifiedUsage analytics on Scaling.Slack bot; Google Workspace integration; API access.Per accepted user, 10-user minimum.Small to mid-size; volume discounts past 250 licenses.
NuclinoMarkdown-friendly editor per G2 summary.Sidekick AI on Business; G2 complaint: search does not tolerate typos.Publishing, custom domain, admin tools.30-day history on Starter, unlimited on Business.Team insights on Business.Not verifiedPer user including guests.Small teams; custom plan above 100 users.

The 12 tools in detail

Notion

All-in-one workspace for wikis, docs and lightweight project databases, priced per member with SSO starting on Business.

Starting price
Free; Plus $10 per member per month billed annually
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (10,967 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Block editor with databases and docs.
Search and AI answers
Notion AI bundled in Business and Enterprise (third party); Free/Plus limited trial.
Internal vs public access control
Workspaces, teamspaces, guests (10 on Free); SAML SSO Business+, SCIM Enterprise.
Versioning and review workflows
Page history (7 days on Free)

Choose it if

  • Startups and small teams combining wiki and project tracking.
  • Teams wanting flexible databases and docs in one tool.

Skip it if

  • Teams needing time tracking or workload planning.
  • Companies needing SCIM or audit logs below Enterprise.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO starts on Business ($20); SCIM and audit log are Enterprise only.
  • Data residency is Enterprise only.
  • Business Associate Agreement (HIPAA) available to Enterprise only.

Zendesk

Enterprise-grade help desk with per-agent plans, a bundled Guide knowledge base and per-resolution AI pricing.

Starting price
$19 per agent/month billed annually (Support Team)
Pricing model
per agent
G2 rating
4.3 (7,001 reviews)
Pricing model
Per agent plus per-resolution AI fees and add-ons.
Target company size
Tiers from Support Team to Enterprise.

Choose it if

  • Support teams that want a broad omnichannel suite with a regional data hosting option.
  • Teams comfortable paying per AI resolution.

Skip it if

  • Teams wanting flat all-in pricing: Copilot, WEM, QA and 24/7 support are paid add-ons.
  • Very small teams that need a free plan (none listed)

Worth knowing

  • Automated AI resolutions are billed at $1.50 (committed) or $2.00 (pay-as-you-go) beyond 5 to 10 included per agent per month.
  • Copilot costs $50 per agent/month on top of Professional.
  • Data center location choice is a paid add-on (US, AU, JP, EEA)

Confluence

Atlassian's per-user wiki and team documentation tool, tightly linked to Jira and sold in Free, Standard, Premium and Enterprise tiers.

Starting price
Free up to 10 users; Standard about $5.42 per user per month billed annually
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.1 (4,233 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Real-time collaborative editing with inline and page comments.
Search and AI answers
Advanced search, labels and hierarchy; Rovo AI summarizes and explains jargon (Standard and up per third party)
Internal vs public access control
Page and space permissions for users, groups and anonymous from Standard.
Versioning and review workflows
Page history, compare and revert on Free.

Choose it if

  • Teams already on Jira or Jira Service Management.
  • Internal wikis and project documentation at any size.

Skip it if

  • Public customer-facing help centers as the main goal.
  • Buyers who need SSO without buying an extra Atlassian Guard subscription.

Worth knowing

  • Free plan caps at 10 users; Standard 1 to 10 users listed at $680 per year.
  • Atlassian raised cloud list prices on 2025-10-15 (Standard +5%, Premium +7.5%, Enterprise +7.5% to 10% per Valiantys) and again for Premium and Enterprise on 2026-10-13.
  • SAML SSO and SCIM need an Atlassian Guard subscription billed per managed user across the org (third-party sources conflict on tier)

Freshdesk

Help desk from Freshworks with three per-agent plans, session-based AI pricing and a built-in knowledge base.

Starting price
$19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth)
Pricing model
per agent
G2 rating
4.4 (3,750 reviews)
Help desk and chat integrations
Connector app tasks $80 per 5,000.
Pricing model
Per agent plus AI session packs.
Target company size
SMB to mid-market tiers.

Choose it if

  • SMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan.
  • Teams with moderate AI chatbot volume (500 sessions included)

Skip it if

  • Teams needing audit logs without paying for Enterprise.
  • Teams wanting a free plan (none listed)

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO is on all plans but audit logs are Enterprise only.
  • AI is priced per session (a 72-hour email window counts as one), not per resolution.
  • Day passes for occasional agents: $2 Growth, $7 Pro, $12 Enterprise.

Guru

AI knowledge platform that delivers verified answers inside work tools, sold on custom quotes.

Starting price
Contact sales
Pricing model
custom
G2 rating
4.7 (2,344 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Card-based knowledge with verification; details not confirmed.
Search and AI answers
Knowledge Agents and AI search, cited permission-aware answers, MCP delivery.
Internal vs public access control
Role-based access, SSO, SCIM, audit logs (enterprise governance)
Versioning and review workflows
Verification workflow not confirmed.

Choose it if

  • Sales and support teams needing verified answers in Slack, browser and chat.
  • Mid-size and enterprise orgs wanting SSO, SCIM and governance.

Skip it if

  • Small teams wanting public per-seat pricing.
  • Public customer-facing help centers.

Worth knowing

  • Median Vendr contract about $37,800 per year vs conflicting $540 on CostBench; treat as uncertain.
  • Quote includes a solution engineering team for knowledge architecture and agent tuning.
  • SSO, SCIM, RBAC and audit logs described as part of enterprise governance.

Bloomfire

Internal knowledge-sharing platform with AI search, sold on a fixed quote based on scope rather than per-user rates.

Starting price
Contact sales
Pricing model
custom (fixed price by scope)
G2 rating
4.6 (509 reviews)
Search and AI answers
G2 reviewers highlight search and discovery (AI-written G2 summary)
Pricing model
Fixed quote based on scope, no user counts or consumption charges.
Target company size
Sales-led; quote includes onboarding and content migration scoping.

Choose it if

  • Mid-size and enterprise teams that want a company-wide Q&A and knowledge library with search as the main feature.
  • Buyers who prefer a fixed price with no per-user counting.

Skip it if

  • Small teams wanting a published price or self-serve trial.
  • Customer-facing help centers (positioned as internal knowledge sharing)

Worth knowing

  • Pricing page states a fixed price by scope with no consumption charges or user counts, unusual in this category.
  • Sales scoping covers integrations, onboarding, content migration and team configuration.
  • /security redirects to a Vanta-hosted trust page, so certifications must be read there.

Document360

Quote-priced knowledge base platform for public or private documentation sites with workflow, analytics and an AI add-on.

Starting price
Contact sales
Pricing model
custom
G2 rating
4.7 (501 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Collaborative editing and Custom Workflow Builder; editor types not detailed on features page.
Search and AI answers
Eddy AI features included in plans; AI Chatbot sold as add-on.
Internal vs public access control
Public, private or mixed KB; reader accounts for private KBs; SSO, SCIM, IP restriction, roles.
Versioning and review workflows
Custom Workflow Builder with reviewers.

Choose it if

  • Product and SaaS documentation teams needing public and private KBs.
  • Teams wanting a dedicated success manager and migration included.

Skip it if

  • Buyers who want public self-serve pricing.
  • Very small teams needing a cheap wiki.

Worth knowing

  • No public price; quote depends on editor seats, workspaces, languages, SSO and AI.
  • Standard migration is included in most quotes.
  • Every customer gets a dedicated success manager and onboarding sessions.

Help Scout

Shared-inbox style help desk with a built-in Docs knowledge base and per-resolution AI pricing.

Starting price
Free up to 5 users; Standard $25 per user/month
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (428 reviews)
Help desk and chat integrations
Salesforce, Jira, HubSpot on Plus.
Pricing model
Per user plus per-resolution AI.
Target company size
Under 25 users on Standard; Pro for larger.

Choose it if

  • Small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs.
  • Teams needing HIPAA support (Pro plan, BAA)

Skip it if

  • Teams needing SSO below the Pro plan (SSO is an add-on or Pro, 10 users minimum)

Worth knowing

  • Free and Standard cap contacts at 100 per month.
  • AI Answers is $0.75 per resolution with an optional monthly spending cap.
  • Pro requires at least 10 users and holds SSO/SAML and HIPAA.

Helpjuice

Flat-fee knowledge base with a monthly price by user cap, with AI features bundled in the two higher plans.

Starting price
$249 per month (Knowledge Base, up to 30 users)
Pricing model
flat
G2 rating
4.7 (380 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
WYSIWYG editor with tables, custom HTML, drag-and-drop media, real-time editing and comments.
Search and AI answers
AI-powered search with 'Ask AI', searches PDFs and images (AI plans)
Internal vs public access control
Restrict by URL, IP, user or group; four user role levels; SSO via Okta, Azure AD, Auth0.
Versioning and review workflows
Version history with compare and restore; approval process for drafts.

Choose it if

  • Teams that want predictable flat monthly cost.
  • Support teams needing a customizable branded help center.

Skip it if

  • Teams under 30 users with tiny budgets (cheapest plan $249 per month)
  • Buyers needing SCIM provisioning (third-party says unsupported)

Worth knowing

  • Pricing is a flat monthly fee by user cap, not per seat: 30, 100 or unlimited users.
  • SSO is listed only on the $449 and $799 plans on the pricing page.
  • Third-party source says no SCIM on any plan: users are created at first SSO login with no auto-deprovisioning.

Slite

AI-first team wiki with per-user pricing, EU data hosting and SOC 2 Type II.

Starting price
$10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (271 reviews)
Search and AI answers
Ask AI search on all paid plans; Agent and cross-tool search on Pro.
Internal vs public access control
Enforced SSO and external IdPs on higher plans; public docs on custom domain (Pro)
Versioning and review workflows
Doc verification workflow on Basic.
Help desk and chat integrations
MCP and API access on Basic; search across connected tools on Pro.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams wanting an AI search wiki at a published price.
  • European buyers wanting EU-hosted data (Belgium)

Skip it if

  • Teams needing SCIM below Enterprise.
  • Customer-facing help centers (internal wiki positioning)

Worth knowing

  • Production data hosted on Google Cloud in Belgium (EU)
  • SSO via external IdP on Pro, SCIM and audit logs only on Enterprise.
  • Pro includes 50 AI credits per seat per month.

Tettra

Internal wiki and AI Q&A tool built around Slack, with a published per-user price and SSO sold as an add-on.

Starting price
$8 per user/month (Scaling, 10-user minimum)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.7 (159 reviews)
Search and AI answers
AI answers and AI bot in Slack included on Scaling.
Internal vs public access control
Group permissions require the SCIM add-on.
Analytics and content gaps
Usage analytics on Scaling.
Help desk and chat integrations
Slack bot; Google Workspace integration; API access.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams living in Slack that want a cheap internal wiki.
  • Teams of 10 or more who want a published monthly price.

Skip it if

  • Teams under 10 users (10-user minimum on Scaling)
  • Buyers who need SSO and SCIM included in the base plan.
  • Customer-facing help centers.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO and SCIM are paid add-ons on Scaling, and group permissions need the SCIM add-on.
  • 10-user minimum on Scaling.
  • Seats are counted only after an invite is accepted; Slack-only users are free.

Nuclino

Lightweight wiki and workspace with a free tier and SAML SSO plus audit log on the top plan.

Starting price
Free (up to 50 items); paid prices not stated
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.7 (24 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Markdown-friendly editor per G2 summary.
Search and AI answers
Sidekick AI on Business; G2 complaint: search does not tolerate typos.
Internal vs public access control
Publishing, custom domain, admin tools.
Versioning and review workflows
30-day history on Starter, unlimited on Business.

Choose it if

  • Small teams wanting a simple, fast wiki with a free plan.
  • Teams that need SAML SSO at a lower tier than enterprise suites.

Skip it if

  • Teams over 100 users (custom talk needed)
  • Heavy workflow or approval needs.
  • Customer help centers.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO and audit log only on Business.
  • Guests and read-only members count toward seat totals.
  • ISO/SOC claims on the security page refer to infrastructure providers.

Frequently asked questions

What is knowledge base software?

Knowledge base software stores help articles, FAQs, how-tos and procedures in a searchable library for customers (external) or employees (internal). It reduces repeat support tickets and keeps teams working from one source of truth.

Which knowledge base software publish their pricing?

9 of the 12 tools we compared publish prices: Notion (Free; Plus $10 per member per month billed annually); Zendesk ($19 per agent/month billed annually (Support Team)); Confluence (Free up to 10 users; Standard about $5.42 per user per month billed annually); Freshdesk ($19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth)); Help Scout (Free up to 5 users; Standard $25 per user/month); Helpjuice ($249 per month (Knowledge Base, up to 30 users)); Slite ($10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)); Tettra ($8 per user/month (Scaling, 10-user minimum)); Nuclino (Free (up to 50 items); paid prices not stated). The others quote on request, so ask for a written quote that names the seat or spend basis, the term and the renewal uplift.

Which knowledge base software have a free plan or free trial?

Notion (free plan), Zendesk (free trial), Confluence (free plan), Freshdesk (free trial), Help Scout (free plan, free trial), Helpjuice (free trial), Slite (free trial), Tettra (free trial) and Nuclino (free plan, free trial), according to the vendors' sites on October 24, 2026.

Which knowledge base software include SSO below the enterprise plan?

Confluence (Via Atlassian Guard subscription (separate); tier disputed by sources); Freshdesk (SAML SSO on all plans); Document360 (Available; plan not stated); Help Scout (Pro includes SSO/SAML; add-on on lower tiers); Helpjuice (Listed on AI-Knowledge Base ($449) and Unlimited ($799); not listed on the $249 plan (a third party says SAML is on all plans, unverified)); Nuclino (Business (SAML 2.0)). The other tools either reserve SAML SSO for their enterprise tier or do not say on their public pages.

Which knowledge base software are rated highest on G2?

Among tools with at least 20 G2 reviews: Guru 4.7 from 2344 reviews, Document360 4.7 from 501 reviews, Helpjuice 4.7 from 380 reviews. Ratings were read on October 24, 2026; small review counts move quickly, so read recent reviews from companies your size.