Software directory

Best Invoicing Software: 11 tools compared for 2026

Invoicing software creates, sends and tracks invoices, then collects payment and chases overdue balances. Many tools add recurring billing, estimates, expense tracking and links to accounting software. Buyers choose between simple standalone invoicing and full accounting suites.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Tools compared
11
Publish prices
11 of 11
Free plan or trial
10 of 11
Median G2 rating
4.3

Invoicing Software at a glance

Invoicing Software, sorted by number of G2 reviews
ToolBest forPricing modelStarting priceG2 rating
Bill.comFinance teams that run both bill pay and invoicing in one tool with approval chains.per user$49 per user per month (Essentials)4.5 (3,985 reviews)
QuickBooks OnlineSmall businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks.flat per plan with user cap$38/month (Simple Start, 1 user)4.0 (3,866 reviews)
XeroTeams that need unlimited users without per-seat cost.flat per plan, no per-user license fee$27/month (Early)4.4 (1,558 reviews)
FreshBooksFreelancers and service businesses billing a limited number of clients.per plan by billable client count plus per extra user$23/month (Lite, 5 billable clients)4.5 (981 reviews)
HarvestAgencies and consultancies that bill clients by the hour from tracked time.per user$9/seat/month billed annually (Teams); Free plan $04.3 (881 reviews)
Zoho InvoiceFreelancers and micro businesses that want free invoicing.flatFree4.7 (364 reviews)
WaveFreelancers and micro businesses wanting free bookkeeping.free tier plus flat Pro plan and payment fees$0 (Starter); Pro $19/month4.3 (327 reviews)
Square InvoicesSmall businesses already taking payments through Square.% of spendFree; Plus $49/month4.7 (215 reviews)
PayPal InvoicingFreelancers whose clients already pay through PayPal.% of spendNo monthly fee; 2.99% + $0.49 per card payment4.3 (210 reviews)
Stripe InvoicingBusinesses already processing payments through Stripe.% of spend0.4% per paid invoice (Starter)4.1 (24 reviews)
Invoice NinjaFreelancers and small firms comfortable self hosting to avoid per seat fees.flatFree (5 clients); Pro $140/year4.3 (22 reviews)

Prices as published by each vendor on October 24, 2026. "Contact sales" means no public price. G2 ratings read on the same day.

Security and contract checklist for invoicing software

Admin, security and contract terms as published, checked October 24, 2026
ToolSAML SSOSCIM provisioningAudit logsData residencyContractSupport
Bill.comCorporate and Enterprise (per pricing comparison table)Not publishedAP and AR keep an unalterable timestamped audit trail on all plans (security page)US only found: AP/AR in certified third-party data centers; Spend & Expense on AWS US-West-2.Monthly vs annual not stated on pricing page.Live chat and phone for all plans; premium phone support on Enterprise.
QuickBooks OnlineNo SAML SSO with external identity providers per ThreatLocker and Intuit community answers (older, unverified in current docs)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedMonthly; no annual contract; cancel anytime per pricing page.Chat on Free; phone support free during trial; priority support and training on Advanced.
FreshBooksNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedThird-party review says personal data processed in Canada; not vendor-confirmed.Not publishedDedicated phone support on Select.
HarvestEnterprise plan ($14/seat annual); not available in trial.Not offered natively per third party guide (stitchflow)Activity log on Enterprise.Google Cloud multi zone; region not named.Monthly plan available; 30 day trial, no card.Not published
Zoho InvoiceNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedRegional Zoho data centers incl. EU domain; storage details not verified.No contract on free plan.Free 24/5 email and voice support per Zoho page.
Square InvoicesNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedMonthly subscription.24/7 phone on Premium.
Stripe InvoicingStripe Dashboard supports SAML 2.0 SSO (docs); plan gating not stated.Supported when SSO is used with SCIM (docs)Security history log of key account activity.Not publishedNo fixed fees on Starter; no minimum term stated.Not published
Invoice NinjaNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedSelf hosting lets you choose; hosted regions not found.Annual Pro; free tier available.Not published

Which plan includes SSO, SCIM and audit logs often decides the real price. "Not published" means the vendor's public pages do not say; ask before you sign.

How to compare invoicing software

  • Recurring invoices and subscriptions. Automatic repeat billing cuts admin for retainers and subscriptions.
  • Online payment acceptance. Card and ACH links on invoices speed up collection; fees vary.
  • Automated payment reminders. Late-payment nudges improve cash flow without manual follow-up.
  • Sales tax and multi-currency. US tax rates and foreign currency support avoid compliance errors.
  • Accounting integration. Sync with QuickBooks or Xero prevents duplicate entry.
  • Time and expense billing. Service firms need billable hours and expenses on invoices.
  • Branding and templates. Professional custom invoices influence client trust.
  • Reporting and aging. Receivables aging shows who owes what and for how long.
  • Pricing model and transparency. Free tiers, per-client or invoice caps and payment fees change cost.
  • Target company size. Freelancer tools differ from mid-market billing systems.
Invoicing Software by buying criteria
ToolRecurring invoices and subscriptionsOnline payment acceptanceAutomated payment remindersSales tax and multi-currencyAccounting integrationTime and expense billingBranding and templatesReporting and agingPricing model and transparencyTarget company size
Bill.comRecurring invoices listed explicitly on Corporate and Enterprise; Essentials and Team list 'send invoices flexibly' only.Card 2.9% and ACH $0.59 on received payments; instant transfer 1.25% ($1 min)Automated payment reminders on all plans.Not verified2-way sync QuickBooks Online/Pro/Premier and Xero from Team; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise on Enterprise; Essentials is CSV only.No billable-time invoicing found; separate BILL Spend & Expense product covers expenses.Not verifiedCash flow forecasting from Team (QBO users); full reporting detail not verified.Per user per month plus per-transaction fees for payments.Small to mid-size businesses and accounting firms (accountant partner programs); Enterprise tier for larger finance teams.
QuickBooks OnlineNot stated on pricing page.QuickBooks Payments, card and ACH; Free plan gets unlimited invoices if you enable Payments.Not stated on pricing page.Not verified.Native accounting product.Employee time added to invoices from Essentials.Custom lead form on Essentials; not verified for templates.Top 3 reports on Free, general business reports on Simple Start, enhanced reports on Essentials, custom KPIs and dashboards on Advanced.Tiered flat price with user caps; no per-user price listed.1 to 25 users; Advanced aimed at the upper small business end.
XeroNot verified.Not verified.Not verified.Not verified.Native accounting product.Projects tracking on Established.Not verified.Cash flow forecast 30/60/180 days by plan.Flat per plan; usage charges for payroll, projects and expenses billed monthly in arrears.Small businesses; Established for larger teams.
FreshBooksAutomated recurring invoices on all tiers.Cards, ACH, Apple Pay, Google Pay, BNPL; lower fees on Select.Automated late payment reminders on all tiers.Tax-time reports on Lite; multi-currency not verified.Native accounting from Plus.Unlimited time tracking and expenses on all tiers.Custom email templates on Premium; branding removal on Select.Financial and double-entry accounting reports from Plus.Client-count tiers plus $11 per extra user.Freelancers to small service firms.
HarvestNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedTime and expenses roll into invoices.Not verifiedCustom reports (4 on Teams, unlimited on Enterprise)Per seat, free tier of 1 seat and 2 projects.Small teams to enterprise; SSO and approvals aimed at larger teams.
Zoho InvoiceNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedZoho Books and other Zoho apps (not verified in detail)Not verifiedInvoice branding on free plan shows Powered by Zoho.Not verifiedFree with annual usage limits.Freelancers and small businesses.
WaveNot verified2.9% + $0.60 per card on Starter.Not verifiedNot verifiedNative accounting.Not verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedFree Starter, $19 Pro, per-transaction payment fees.Solo and micro businesses.
Square InvoicesIncluded in invoices features.Card, ACH; fees by plan.Not verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedCustom invoice templates start on Plus.Not verifiedFree software plus processing fees; paid tiers cut rates.Small businesses and sole traders.
PayPal InvoicingRecurring invoices or templates.PayPal, Venmo, cards, Apple Pay, Pay Later, ACH.Automatic reminders.24 currencies in 200+ markets.Not verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedPer transaction fees only.Freelancers and small businesses.
Stripe InvoicingRecurring invoicing via Stripe Billing; Smart Retries recover about 38% of originally failed payments (Stripe figure)Card, bank transfer and 100+ global payment methods; ACH credit with virtual bank account numbers and auto-reconciliation.Automatic email reminders when invoices are due or overdue.Manual tax rates or automatic calculation, collection and filing via Stripe Tax; 135+ currencies, 25+ languages.Syncs with NetSuite, Xero and QuickBooks; revenue recognition available.Not verifiedHosted invoice page included in both plans; template depth not verified.Not verified0.4% (Starter) or 0.5% (Plus) per paid invoice, plus payment fees; no seat fee.Mostly small businesses (79.2% of G2 reviews)
Invoice NinjaSupported (Pro)Multiple gateways; not verified in detail.Not verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedCustom branding URL on Pro; client portal branded on all plans.Not verifiedFlat annual fee, not per invoice.Freelancers and small businesses (95.5% small business reviewers on G2)

The 11 tools in detail

Bill.com

Per-user AP and AR automation platform that sends invoices, collects payments and syncs with QuickBooks, Xero and NetSuite.

Starting price
$49 per user per month (Essentials)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.5 (3,985 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Recurring invoices listed explicitly on Corporate and Enterprise; Essentials and Team list 'send invoices flexibly' only.
Online payment acceptance
Card 2.9% and ACH $0.59 on received payments; instant transfer 1.25% ($1 min)
Automated payment reminders
Automated payment reminders on all plans.
Accounting integration
2-way sync QuickBooks Online/Pro/Premier and Xero from Team; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise on Enterprise; Essentials is CSV only.

Choose it if

  • Finance teams that run both bill pay and invoicing in one tool with approval chains.
  • Small and mid-size companies on QuickBooks Online or Xero that want 2-way sync.

Skip it if

  • Freelancers who only need to send a few invoices (starts at $49 per user per month)
  • Companies needing many international payment options (reviewers complain about this)

Worth knowing

  • Per-user pricing: a 20-user team on Team costs $15,600 per year at the listed monthly rate ($65 x 20 x 12), before payment fees.
  • Only Corporate and above show SSO in the plan comparison table; the security page does not mention SSO.
  • Automatic QuickBooks/Xero sync starts at Team ($65); Essentials is manual CSV.

QuickBooks Online

Intuit's cloud bookkeeping suite with four paid tiers that scale by user cap (1, 3, 5, 25) rather than per seat.

Starting price
$38/month (Simple Start, 1 user)
Pricing model
flat per plan with user cap
G2 rating
4.0 (3,866 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Not stated on pricing page.
Online payment acceptance
QuickBooks Payments, card and ACH; Free plan gets unlimited invoices if you enable Payments.
Automated payment reminders
Not stated on pricing page.
Sales tax and multi-currency
Not verified.

Choose it if

  • Small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks.
  • Teams that want a wide third-party app ecosystem.
  • Businesses needing inventory, projects and budgeting on the Plus tier.

Skip it if

  • Companies needing SAML SSO with an external identity provider.
  • Very small freelancers watching cost, since list prices rose in 2025.

Worth knowing

  • Users are capped by plan (1/3/5/25), so a 20-person team has to buy Advanced at $340/month on the vendor pricing page.
  • Third-party sources and Intuit's own notice documented a list increase effective July 1, 2025 (Simple Start $35 to $38, Essentials $65 to $75, Plus $99 to $115, Advanced $235 to $275)
  • Community answers and a ThreatLocker post state QuickBooks Online does not support SAML SSO with external identity providers; Google sign-in is the alternative.

Xero

New Zealand-built cloud accounting with three flat-priced plans and no per-user license fees.

Starting price
$27/month (Early)
Pricing model
flat per plan, no per-user license fee
G2 rating
4.4 (1,558 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Not verified.
Online payment acceptance
Not verified.
Automated payment reminders
Not verified.
Sales tax and multi-currency
Not verified.

Choose it if

  • Teams that need unlimited users without per-seat cost.
  • Businesses with multi-currency needs.
  • Firms working with accountants who use Xero practice tools.

Skip it if

  • Buyers needing annual billing discounts (none on the US page)
  • Teams needing SAML SSO, which we could not confirm.

Worth knowing

  • No per-user license fees, so seats do not affect price.
  • Prices step up on October 1, 2026 to $27/$59/$97 from $25/$55/$90 (insightfulaccountant.com and vendor page)
  • Pricing page says Xero may change pricing at any time and subscriptions auto-renew monthly.

FreshBooks

Invoicing-first accounting for freelancers and service firms, priced by billable client count.

Starting price
$23/month (Lite, 5 billable clients)
Pricing model
per plan by billable client count plus per extra user
G2 rating
4.5 (981 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Automated recurring invoices on all tiers.
Online payment acceptance
Cards, ACH, Apple Pay, Google Pay, BNPL; lower fees on Select.
Automated payment reminders
Automated late payment reminders on all tiers.
Sales tax and multi-currency
Tax-time reports on Lite; multi-currency not verified.

Choose it if

  • Freelancers and service businesses billing a limited number of clients.
  • Teams wanting time tracking and invoicing in one tool.
  • Buyers who want simple, guided accounting.

Skip it if

  • Teams that need many staff seats cheaply ($11 per extra user)
  • Businesses needing inventory or deep ledger control.

Worth knowing

  • Plans are capped by billable clients (5/50/unlimited), not by users, so Lite stops working once you bill a sixth client.
  • Every extra team member costs $11/month on all tiers; only Select includes 2.
  • Only SOC 2 Type 1 found (Feb 2023), report available under NDA.

Harvest

Time tracking tool with built in invoicing and expense tracking, priced per seat with a one seat free tier.

Starting price
$9/seat/month billed annually (Teams); Free plan $0
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.3 (881 reviews)
Time and expense billing
Time and expenses roll into invoices.
Reporting and aging
Custom reports (4 on Teams, unlimited on Enterprise)
Pricing model and transparency
Per seat, free tier of 1 seat and 2 projects.
Target company size
Small teams to enterprise; SSO and approvals aimed at larger teams.

Choose it if

  • Agencies and consultancies that bill clients by the hour from tracked time.
  • Teams that want one tool for timesheets, expenses and invoices without a separate accounting app.

Skip it if

  • Solo users needing more than 2 projects on a free plan.
  • Teams that need SCIM provisioning (not offered on any plan per a third party guide)
  • Companies needing payroll or attendance compliance features.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO is only on Enterprise ($14/seat annual) and is excluded from the Premium features available during the 30 day trial.
  • Seats cannot be removed mid cycle; only added with proration, reductions apply at next renewal.
  • Teams with 10 or more seats paying annually can request an invoice and pay by ACH or bank transfer.

Zoho Invoice

Free invoicing app from Zoho with usage caps, upgraded through Zoho Billing or Zoho Books.

Starting price
Free
Pricing model
flat
G2 rating
4.7 (364 reviews)
Accounting integration
Zoho Books and other Zoho apps (not verified in detail)
Branding and templates
Invoice branding on free plan shows Powered by Zoho.
Pricing model and transparency
Free with annual usage limits.
Target company size
Freelancers and small businesses.

Choose it if

  • Freelancers and micro businesses that want free invoicing.
  • Businesses already on Zoho apps.

Skip it if

  • Companies that need many customers or entities on the free plan.
  • Teams that want a paid tier of the same product (upgrade is to Zoho Billing)

Worth knowing

  • Free plan data is deleted if the account is inactive for 180 days (20 days after notice)
  • Zoho's own pages state different free limits (2 users, 500 invoices vs 5 customers), so check your account's Usage Stats.
  • Free API quota is 1,000 requests per day, 100 per minute.

Wave

Free-to-start bookkeeping and invoicing for tiny businesses that makes money on payments and a $19 Pro tier.

Starting price
$0 (Starter); Pro $19/month
Pricing model
free tier plus flat Pro plan and payment fees
G2 rating
4.3 (327 reviews)
Online payment acceptance
2.9% + $0.60 per card on Starter.
Accounting integration
Native accounting.
Pricing model and transparency
Free Starter, $19 Pro, per-transaction payment fees.
Target company size
Solo and micro businesses.

Choose it if

  • Freelancers and micro businesses wanting free bookkeeping.
  • Service businesses collecting card payments through invoices.

Skip it if

  • Teams wanting a wide app ecosystem or inventory.
  • Buyers needing fast support (slow support is the main G2 complaint)

Worth knowing

  • Owned by H&R Block, which reports Wave Pro tier momentum in fiscal 2026.
  • Starter is free but card payments cost 2.9% + $0.60 per transaction.
  • Pro roles (admin, editor, viewer) imply multi-user, but the page gives no numeric user limit.

Square Invoices

Invoicing bundled with Square payments, with Free, Plus and Premium tiers that mainly change card fees and features.

Starting price
Free; Plus $49/month
Pricing model
% of spend
G2 rating
4.7 (215 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Included in invoices features.
Online payment acceptance
Card, ACH; fees by plan.
Branding and templates
Custom invoice templates start on Plus.
Pricing model and transparency
Free software plus processing fees; paid tiers cut rates.

Choose it if

  • Small businesses already taking payments through Square.
  • Service businesses wanting to collect by card or ACH with no software fee on the Free plan.

Skip it if

  • Businesses wanting to avoid per transaction fees by paying invoices off platform.
  • Users needing e-signature (reviewers cite it missing)

Worth knowing

  • Square's October 2025 restructuring made the tiers $0, $49 and $149 across all business types (third party)
  • ACH on Plus and Premium is capped at $10 while Free charges 1% with $1 minimum.
  • Invoices paid by card use the online rate, not the cheaper in person rate.

PayPal Invoicing

Invoice feature inside a PayPal business account with no monthly fee and per transaction charges.

Starting price
No monthly fee; 2.99% + $0.49 per card payment
Pricing model
% of spend
G2 rating
4.3 (210 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Recurring invoices or templates.
Online payment acceptance
PayPal, Venmo, cards, Apple Pay, Pay Later, ACH.
Automated payment reminders
Automatic reminders.
Sales tax and multi-currency
24 currencies in 200+ markets.

Choose it if

  • Freelancers whose clients already pay through PayPal.
  • Occasional invoicing across currencies.

Skip it if

  • Businesses wanting low payment fees.
  • Teams needing accounting, time or expense tracking.

Worth knowing

  • Invoice payment fees: card 2.99% + $0.49 vs PayPal balance 3.49% + $0.49.
  • ACH via Pay by Bank costs 1% capped at $10.
  • Supports 24 currencies.

Stripe Invoicing

Usage-priced invoicing add-on to Stripe Payments that takes a percentage of each paid invoice instead of a seat fee.

Starting price
0.4% per paid invoice (Starter)
Pricing model
% of spend
G2 rating
4.1 (24 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Recurring invoicing via Stripe Billing; Smart Retries recover about 38% of originally failed payments (Stripe figure)
Online payment acceptance
Card, bank transfer and 100+ global payment methods; ACH credit with virtual bank account numbers and auto-reconciliation.
Automated payment reminders
Automatic email reminders when invoices are due or overdue.
Sales tax and multi-currency
Manual tax rates or automatic calculation, collection and filing via Stripe Tax; 135+ currencies, 25+ languages.

Choose it if

  • Businesses already processing payments through Stripe.
  • Teams that want no seat fee and no fixed monthly cost.

Skip it if

  • Service firms needing time tracking and expense billing.
  • Teams that want a standalone accounting or AP tool.

Worth knowing

  • Pricing is per paid invoice (0.4% or 0.5%), so cost scales with invoice value, not seats.
  • A $100,000 paid invoice costs $400 on Starter in invoicing fees, on top of payment fees.
  • No setup fees or fixed monthly fee on Starter.

Invoice Ninja

Open source invoicing app available hosted or self hosted, with a free tier limited to 5 clients.

Starting price
Free (5 clients); Pro $140/year
Pricing model
flat
G2 rating
4.3 (22 reviews)
Recurring invoices and subscriptions
Supported (Pro)
Online payment acceptance
Multiple gateways; not verified in detail.
Branding and templates
Custom branding URL on Pro; client portal branded on all plans.
Pricing model and transparency
Flat annual fee, not per invoice.

Choose it if

  • Freelancers and small firms comfortable self hosting to avoid per seat fees.
  • Teams wanting client portal, recurring invoices and many payment gateways at a flat low price.

Skip it if

  • Teams wanting a large vendor with polished support and many reviews (only 22 on G2)
  • Users needing a free plan with many clients.

Worth knowing

  • Pro is $140/year flat versus per seat pricing at most rivals.
  • Self hosting is free and the code is source available, so you pay only server and upkeep.
  • Free tier caps at 5 clients.

Frequently asked questions

What is invoicing software?

Invoicing software creates, sends and tracks invoices, then collects payment and chases overdue balances. Many tools add recurring billing, estimates, expense tracking and links to accounting software. Buyers choose between simple standalone invoicing and full accounting suites.

Which invoicing software publish their pricing?

11 of the 11 tools we compared publish prices: Bill.com ($49 per user per month (Essentials)); QuickBooks Online ($38/month (Simple Start, 1 user)); Xero ($27/month (Early)); FreshBooks ($23/month (Lite, 5 billable clients)); Harvest ($9/seat/month billed annually (Teams); Free plan $0); Zoho Invoice (Free); Wave ($0 (Starter); Pro $19/month); Square Invoices (Free; Plus $49/month); PayPal Invoicing (No monthly fee; 2.99% + $0.49 per card payment); Stripe Invoicing (0.4% per paid invoice (Starter)); Invoice Ninja (Free (5 clients); Pro $140/year). The others quote on request, so ask for a written quote that names the seat or spend basis, the term and the renewal uplift.

Which invoicing software have a free plan or free trial?

Bill.com (free trial), QuickBooks Online (free plan, free trial), Xero (free trial), FreshBooks (free trial), Harvest (free plan, free trial), Zoho Invoice (free plan), Wave (free plan), Square Invoices (free plan), PayPal Invoicing (free plan) and Invoice Ninja (free plan), according to the vendors' sites on October 24, 2026.

Which invoicing software include SSO below the enterprise plan?

QuickBooks Online (No SAML SSO with external identity providers per ThreatLocker and Intuit community answers (older, unverified in current docs)); Stripe Invoicing (Stripe Dashboard supports SAML 2.0 SSO (docs); plan gating not stated). The other tools either reserve SAML SSO for their enterprise tier or do not say on their public pages.

Which invoicing software are rated highest on G2?

Among tools with at least 20 G2 reviews: Zoho Invoice 4.7 from 364 reviews, Square Invoices 4.7 from 215 reviews, Bill.com 4.5 from 3985 reviews. Ratings were read on October 24, 2026; small review counts move quickly, so read recent reviews from companies your size.