Software directory
Best Expense Management Software: 12 tools compared for 2026
Expense management software captures receipts, enforces spending policy, routes approvals and reimburses employees, often alongside corporate cards. It replaces spreadsheets and paper receipts with an audit trail that syncs to the accounting system.
- Tools compared
- 12
- Publish prices
- 7 of 12
- Free plan or trial
- 6 of 12
- Median G2 rating
- 4.5
Expense Management Software at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Pricing model | Starting price | G2 rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Companies up to 300 employees with heavy travel. | per user | Free (Navan Business, up to 300 employees) | 4.7 (9,517 reviews) | |
| Mid-size to large companies that also want travel booking tied to expenses. | per report | From $7 per report (Base) | 4.0 (6,765 reviews) | |
| Mid-size to large finance teams wanting audited vendor security. | custom | Contact sales | 4.4 (6,146 reviews) | |
| Not published | Contact sales | 4.5 (5,654 reviews) | ||
| Companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card. | per user plus platform fee | $0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee | 4.8 (2,492 reviews) | |
| SMBs wanting no software fees and a charge card. | per user | $0 per user per month | 4.5 (2,081 reviews) | |
| Existing Rippling HR/IT customers. | per employee | Rippling plans from $8 per employee per month plus monthly base fee (whole platform) | 4.7 (1,818 reviews) | |
| Small teams on a tight budget. | per user | Free; paid from $3 per user per month billed annually | 4.5 (1,542 reviews) | |
| Startups and mid-size companies that want cards plus expenses on one platform. | per user (software) plus card | $0 per user per month (Essentials) | 4.8 (1,515 reviews) | |
| UK and EEA companies wanting issued cards (USD, GBP, EUR and more) plus expenses in one tool. | custom | From $299/month (Travel module, en-us); Cards & Expenses from $449/month; UK/EEA Growth from GBP 149/month | 4.5 (895 reviews) | |
| European SMBs using Xero, QuickBooks or Datev. | flat + per transaction | Contact sales | 4.6 (413 reviews) | |
| Teams of 5 or more that already use Sage, QuickBooks or Xero and want card-feed reconciliation. | per user | $11.99 per active user/month, billed annually (Growth, 5 user minimum) | No G2 rating found |
Prices as published by each vendor on October 24, 2026. "Contact sales" means no public price. G2 ratings read on the same day.
Security and contract checklist for expense management software
| Tool | SAML SSO | SCIM provisioning | Audit logs | Data residency | Contract | Support |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ramp | Supported (Okta, Google, Microsoft Azure); plan not stated. | Not published | Plus and Enterprise. | Not published | Plus has 30-day free trial, switch plans any time; Enterprise annual, via sales. | Free: help center and AI help; Plus: chat, email, phone; Enterprise: dedicated account and CS manager, priority 24/7. |
| Zoho Expense | Standard and up (Custom adds AD, Okta, JumpCloud per EU page) | Not published | Basic audit trail on Free; paid not specified. | Not published | No long-term commitment, pay-as-you-go. | Email on Free; Premium Support paid add-on. |
| Payhawk | SSO/SAML listed as always included. | Not published | Not published | Region not published; runs on AWS and Google Cloud, contact security@payhawk.com. | Annual or multi-year typical; Growth shows 24 months. | Not published |
| Spendesk | Included in Foundations (all) | Not published | Not published | AWS-hosted, region not stated. | Not published | Not published |
| Fyle (Sage Expense Management) | Optional paid add-on on Business; included on Enterprise; not on Growth. | Not published | Audit history on all plans. | Not published | Billed annually; cancellation terms not published on pricing page. | Premium support with live chat is a paid option. |
Which plan includes SSO, SCIM and audit logs often decides the real price. "Not published" means the vendor's public pages do not say; ask before you sign.
How to compare expense management software
- Pricing model. Per-user fees, free card-based models and add-on charges make true cost hard to compare.
- Target company size. Some tools target freelancers and small teams, others multi-entity enterprises.
- Receipt capture and OCR. Accurate mobile scanning removes manual entry and missing receipts.
- Approval workflows and policy controls. Rules by amount, category and department prevent out-of-policy spend.
- Corporate cards. Integrated cards give real-time visibility instead of after-the-fact reports.
- Accounting integrations. Sync with QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite and Sage saves finance rework.
- Reimbursements and payments. Fast employee payouts and international support affect satisfaction.
- Travel and mileage tracking. Teams with frequent travel need booking, per diem and mileage features.
| Tool | Pricing model | Target company size | Receipt capture and OCR | Approval workflows and policy controls | Corporate cards | Accounting integrations | Reimbursements and payments | Travel and mileage tracking |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Navan | Free first 5 expensing users, then $15/expensing user/month (FAQ) | Business up to 300 employees; Enterprise larger. | Receipt scanning included. | Unlimited policy and approval workflows (travel); expense approvals. | Connect existing corporate or business cards; issuance not described. | Integrates with most ERPs; 30+ HRIS. | Expense reimbursements. | Full travel booking with 24/7 agents and rewards. |
| SAP Concur | Per submitted report, unlimited users on all tiers. | About 10 to 10,000+ employees (vendor) | ExpenseIt AI extracts receipt details. | Manager approval workflow with policy checks at submission. | Card transactions import automatically (card feeds); no issued card described. | Hundreds of ERP/HR/accounting partners; names QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite. | Not verified | Links with Concur Travel; mileage not described on page. |
| Emburse | Quote only. | Not verified | AI captures, categorizes and validates spend (vendor) | Not verified | Emburse Spend listed; not described. | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Expensify | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Expensify Card exists (default export accounts documented) | Card export to QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Desktop, FinancialForce (per card settings page) | Not verified | Not verified |
| Ramp | Free plan $0; Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee by team size. | Not verified | Not verified | Approval workflows on Plus. | Corporate card included on all plans. | Free: QuickBooks Online, Xero. Plus: NetSuite, Sage Intacct. Enterprise: Workday, Oracle Fusion. | 1099 filing $0.65 per IRS filing, free state filing. | 24/7 phone support for travel bookings on Plus. |
| Bill Spend & Expense | No per-user fee; card based. | Not verified | AI auto-categorization and receipt matching. | Budgets, approval workflows, spend controls. | Physical and virtual BILL Divvy cards, bank-partner issued. | NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, Dynamics, Xero. | Reimbursements and payments, rewards. | Travel platform in development per page. |
| Rippling Spend | Per employee per month with base fee; custom quote. | Not verified | Auto receipt requests by SMS and email; OCR not mentioned. | Custom approval workflows from employee data. | Corporate cards with rules by employee, vendor, amount. | Bills sync with GL coding; QuickBooks, NetSuite named. | Bill pay by ACH, check, wire; local-currency international. | Travel policies by role, department, location. |
| Zoho Expense | Per user, only expense-creating users billed. | Freelancers to mid-size; Custom plan from 100 users. | AI scan: 20/user/month Free, 200 Standard, 1,000 Premium (EU page) | Policy and approval workflows. | Card feed management (Visa/Mastercard) on Standard; not an issuer. | Not verified | ACH payments on Standard (EU page) | GPS mileage on Free; live mileage and travel booking on Premium. |
| Brex | Essentials $0, Premium $12 per user per month, Enterprise custom. | Startups, mid-size, enterprise (vendor) | AI-automated expense reports (vendor claim; OCR specifics not read) | AI-automated approvals (vendor) | Global corporate cards with built-in controls. | Vendor claims thousands of two-way ERP integrations. | Bill pay, vendor cards, business accounts. | In-app travel booking. |
| Payhawk | Flat Growth fee, then module and per-unit quotes. | Growth for under 20 employees; modular for larger. | Not verified | Policy and approval controls described as AI-powered process control. | Physical and virtual debit cards in USD, GBP, EUR, RON, DKK, PLN, CHF; single-use virtual and metal cards. | ERP integrations (advanced ERP is an add-on); specific list not verified. | Employee reimbursements included; FX payments to 150 countries claimed. | Business travel booking module. |
| Spendesk | Fixed monthly fee plus transaction-based variable fees; no per-user fee. | Not verified | Not verified | Control settings included; advanced workflows add-on. | Physical, single-use, recurring virtual, multi-use; no monthly card fees. | Xero, QuickBooks, Datev; HR & ERP add-on covers 40+ tools. | Expense claims and invoice payments billed as transactions. | Not verified |
| Fyle (Sage Expense Management) | Per active user per month, billed annually. | Growth from 5 users; Enterprise tier for 250+ employees. | OCR extracts merchant, date, amount and category from receipts. | Multi-level, project-based or department-led approvals. | Works with existing cards: Visa and Mastercard feeds plus Amex and virtual Amex; does not issue physical cards. | Sage Intacct, Sage 300 CRE, Sage 50, Xero, QuickBooks Online and Desktop. | ACH reimbursements, US only. | Mileage (Google Maps) and per diems; Perk travel integration. |
The 12 tools in detail
SAP Concur
Long-running SAP-owned expense and travel platform sold per submitted report, scaling from about 10 to over 10,000 employees.
- Starting price
- From $7 per report (Base)
- Pricing model
- per report
- G2 rating
- 4.0 (6,765 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Per submitted report, unlimited users on all tiers.
- Target company size
- About 10 to 10,000+ employees (vendor)
- Receipt capture and OCR
- ExpenseIt AI extracts receipt details.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Manager approval workflow with policy checks at submission.
Choose it if
- Mid-size to large companies that also want travel booking tied to expenses.
- Teams that need many ERP/HR integrations.
Skip it if
- Very small teams wanting per-user pricing.
- Buyers who need published full pricing.
Worth knowing
- Priced per expense report, not per seat: cost scales with report volume.
- Unlimited users on every tier.
- Premium bundles Concur Travel and Intelligence only on custom pricing.
Emburse
Expense vendor with Expense Enterprise and Expense Professional products plus a Spend product, no public pricing.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (6,146 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Quote only.
- Receipt capture and OCR
- AI captures, categorizes and validates spend (vendor)
- Corporate cards
- Emburse Spend listed; not described.
Choose it if
- Mid-size to large finance teams wanting audited vendor security.
- Organizations replacing legacy expense tools.
Skip it if
- Buyers who need published prices.
- Very small teams.
Worth knowing
- Homepage lists ISO 27001 only as guided implementation, not a certification.
- ISO 42001 (AI management) certified.
- Sub-brands Certify, Chrome River, Abacus were not mentioned on the homepage; check which product you are quoted.
Expensify
Expensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- Not published
- G2 rating
- 4.5 (5,654 reviews)
- Corporate cards
- Expensify Card exists (default export accounts documented)
- Accounting integrations
- Card export to QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Desktop, FinancialForce (per card settings page)
Ramp
Corporate card and spend platform with a free tier and a paid Plus plan, where purchase orders come from a Procurement add-on.
- Starting price
- $0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee
- Pricing model
- per user plus platform fee
- G2 rating
- 4.8 (2,492 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Free plan $0; Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee by team size.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Approval workflows on Plus.
- Corporate cards
- Corporate card included on all plans.
- Accounting integrations
- Free: QuickBooks Online, Xero. Plus: NetSuite, Sage Intacct. Enterprise: Workday, Oracle Fusion.
Choose it if
- Companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card.
- Teams that want a free entry tier with QuickBooks Online or Xero.
Skip it if
- Teams that need PO management without the Plus plan (Procurement is Plus or Enterprise only)
- Buyers who want a standalone procurement tool unconnected to a card program.
Worth knowing
- PO functions are a paid add-on and need Plus, so the $0 tier has no purchase orders.
- Plus fee has a platform component based on team size that the page does not quantify.
- ERP depth rises by tier: NetSuite and Sage Intacct only from Plus, Workday and Oracle from Enterprise.
Bill Spend & Expense
Divvy rebranded as BILL Spend & Expense: free-per-user card and expense software from Bill, earning on card interchange.
Rebranded: Divvy is now BILL Spend & Expense (formerly Divvy), services by Divvy Pay LLC.
- Starting price
- $0 per user per month
- Pricing model
- per user
- G2 rating
- 4.5 (2,081 reviews)
- Pricing model
- No per-user fee; card based.
- Receipt capture and OCR
- AI auto-categorization and receipt matching.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Budgets, approval workflows, spend controls.
- Corporate cards
- Physical and virtual BILL Divvy cards, bank-partner issued.
Choose it if
- SMBs wanting no software fees and a charge card.
- Existing BILL AP/AR customers.
Skip it if
- Teams that do not want a card or credit line.
- Buyers needing confirmed SSO.
Worth knowing
- Rebranded from Divvy to BILL Spend & Expense.
- $0 per user but tied to card usage and credit approval.
- Spend & Expense Partner plan is free for accountants and their clients.
Rippling Spend
Rippling's finance module (expense, corporate cards, bill pay, travel) driven by its employee data.
- Starting price
- Rippling plans from $8 per employee per month plus monthly base fee (whole platform)
- Pricing model
- per employee
- G2 rating
- 4.7 (1,818 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Per employee per month with base fee; custom quote.
- Receipt capture and OCR
- Auto receipt requests by SMS and email; OCR not mentioned.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Custom approval workflows from employee data.
- Corporate cards
- Corporate cards with rules by employee, vendor, amount.
Choose it if
- Existing Rippling HR/IT customers.
- Teams wanting card controls tied to employee records.
Skip it if
- Companies not on Rippling.
- Buyers who need published expense pricing.
Worth knowing
- Page does not mention OCR; receipts are chased automatically after card purchases.
- Sometimes referred to as Rippling Finance.
- Priced as part of a per-employee Rippling bundle with a monthly base fee.
Zoho Expense
Low-cost per-user expense tool from Zoho with a free plan for up to 3 users and no contract.
- Starting price
- Free; paid from $3 per user per month billed annually
- Pricing model
- per user
- G2 rating
- 4.5 (1,542 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Per user, only expense-creating users billed.
- Target company size
- Freelancers to mid-size; Custom plan from 100 users.
- Receipt capture and OCR
- AI scan: 20/user/month Free, 200 Standard, 1,000 Premium (EU page)
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Policy and approval workflows.
Choose it if
- Small teams on a tight budget.
- Existing Zoho Books or Zoho One users.
Skip it if
- Companies needing issued corporate cards.
- Large enterprises wanting deep multi-entity workflows.
Worth knowing
- SSO is already on Standard, the cheapest paid plan.
- Free plan limited to 3 users and 20 receipt scans per user per month.
- Custom plan has a 100-user minimum (EU pricing page)
Brex
Brex is a corporate card and spend platform with expense management, travel, bill pay and business banking, with a free base software tier.
- Starting price
- $0 per user per month (Essentials)
- Pricing model
- per user (software) plus card
- G2 rating
- 4.8 (1,515 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Essentials $0, Premium $12 per user per month, Enterprise custom.
- Target company size
- Startups, mid-size, enterprise (vendor)
- Receipt capture and OCR
- AI-automated expense reports (vendor claim; OCR specifics not read)
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- AI-automated approvals (vendor)
Choose it if
- Startups and mid-size companies that want cards plus expenses on one platform.
- Teams wanting a $0 software tier.
Skip it if
- Buyers wanting card-agnostic expense software only (pricing assumes the Brex platform, not verified)
Worth knowing
- Advanced SSO is Premium and up ($12/user/month); Essentials is $0 but has MFA and enterprise IdP support per comparison table.
- Vendor markets 120+ countries and 35,000+ companies.
- Brex site names Henrique Dubugras as Co-CEO; ownership change not confirmed here.
Payhawk
Spend management platform combining cards, expenses, bill pay and procurement, aimed at European mid-size companies.
- Starting price
- From $299/month (Travel module, en-us); Cards & Expenses from $449/month; UK/EEA Growth from GBP 149/month
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.5 (895 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Flat Growth fee, then module and per-unit quotes.
- Target company size
- Growth for under 20 employees; modular for larger.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Policy and approval controls described as AI-powered process control.
- Corporate cards
- Physical and virtual debit cards in USD, GBP, EUR, RON, DKK, PLN, CHF; single-use virtual and metal cards.
Choose it if
- UK and EEA companies wanting issued cards (USD, GBP, EUR and more) plus expenses in one tool.
- Teams that may add bill pay or procurement modules later.
Skip it if
- Teams wanting transparent per-seat pricing (only Growth is published)
- Companies with 20+ employees who want to self-serve without a quote.
Worth knowing
- Only the Growth plan has a public price; every module beyond it is quoted per unit.
- Growth is capped at 10 cards, 10 seats (8 employee, 2 admin) and 15 invoices/reimbursements a month.
- Growth price shown with a 24-month commitment.
Spendesk
Spend management platform with a flat subscription plus transaction fees, unlimited users and cards, and ISO 27001 certification.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- flat + per transaction
- G2 rating
- 4.6 (413 reviews)
- Pricing model
- Fixed monthly fee plus transaction-based variable fees; no per-user fee.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Control settings included; advanced workflows add-on.
- Corporate cards
- Physical, single-use, recurring virtual, multi-use; no monthly card fees.
- Accounting integrations
- Xero, QuickBooks, Datev; HR & ERP add-on covers 40+ tools.
Choose it if
- European SMBs using Xero, QuickBooks or Datev.
- Teams wanting unlimited cards and users.
Skip it if
- Buyers needing published prices.
- US-first teams (not verified)
Worth knowing
- SSO/SAML included in base Foundations plan.
- Costs scale with transaction count (cards, invoices, claims), not seats.
- Advanced workflows, multi-entity and ERP integrations are paid add-ons.
Fyle (Sage Expense Management)
Expense management tool that reconciles existing corporate card feeds and syncs to Sage, Xero and QuickBooks; now sold as Sage Expense Management.
Rebranded: Product is now branded Sage Expense Management (formerly Fyle) on fylehq.com; acquisition date and terms not verified.
- Starting price
- $11.99 per active user/month, billed annually (Growth, 5 user minimum)
- Pricing model
- per user
- G2 rating
- No G2 rating found
- Pricing model
- Per active user per month, billed annually.
- Target company size
- Growth from 5 users; Enterprise tier for 250+ employees.
- Receipt capture and OCR
- OCR extracts merchant, date, amount and category from receipts.
- Approval workflows and policy controls
- Multi-level, project-based or department-led approvals.
Choose it if
- Teams of 5 or more that already use Sage, QuickBooks or Xero and want card-feed reconciliation.
- US companies that reimburse employees by ACH.
Skip it if
- Companies wanting a vendor-issued corporate card (it works with existing cards and does not issue physical cards)
- Teams outside the US needing local reimbursement rails (ACH is US only)
Worth knowing
- Billing counts only active users (an expense created or a card transaction in the month), so idle accounts cost nothing.
- Business plan SSO and QuickBooks Desktop integration cost extra, and two-way integrations on Business carry a one-time implementation fee.
- Does not issue cards, so card savings or cashback depend on your existing bank.
Frequently asked questions
What is expense management software?
Expense management software captures receipts, enforces spending policy, routes approvals and reimburses employees, often alongside corporate cards. It replaces spreadsheets and paper receipts with an audit trail that syncs to the accounting system.
Which expense management software publish their pricing?
7 of the 12 tools we compared publish prices: Navan (Free (Navan Business, up to 300 employees)); SAP Concur (From $7 per report (Base)); Ramp ($0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee); Bill Spend & Expense ($0 per user per month); Zoho Expense (Free; paid from $3 per user per month billed annually); Brex ($0 per user per month (Essentials)); Fyle (Sage Expense Management) ($11.99 per active user/month, billed annually (Growth, 5 user minimum)). The others quote on request, so ask for a written quote that names the seat or spend basis, the term and the renewal uplift.
Which expense management software have a free plan or free trial?
Navan (free plan), Ramp (free plan, free trial), Bill Spend & Expense (free plan), Zoho Expense (free plan, free trial), Brex (free plan) and Payhawk (free trial), according to the vendors' sites on October 24, 2026.
Which expense management software include SSO below the enterprise plan?
Ramp (Supported (Okta, Google, Microsoft Azure); plan not stated); Zoho Expense (Standard and up (Custom adds AD, Okta, JumpCloud per EU page)); Payhawk (SSO/SAML listed as always included); Spendesk (Included in Foundations (all)). The other tools either reserve SAML SSO for their enterprise tier or do not say on their public pages.
Which expense management software are rated highest on G2?
Among tools with at least 20 G2 reviews: Ramp 4.8 from 2492 reviews, Brex 4.8 from 1515 reviews, Navan 4.7 from 9517 reviews. Ratings were read on October 24, 2026; small review counts move quickly, so read recent reviews from companies your size.