HoneyBook review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

HoneyBook provides proposals and reusable templates on starter for independent service businesses and boutique agencies, with paid access and plan-level tradeoffs.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

HoneyBook is worth shortlisting for client-service firms that combine booking and proposal work and want quotes, contracts and invoices in one workspace, with a client portal and calendar. Starter already includes proposals and contracts, so the entry plan is usable on its own. It is not meant for complex B2B sales organizations that need enterprise CPQ, or for larger teams that expect unlimited members on Starter.

Users appreciate having proposals and client billing together. One reviewer reports limited PDF and mobile editing options. G2 lists no rating. The vendor does not publish security certifications, so a buyer should treat security review as an open item rather than assume coverage, and raise it before the trial ends.

Pros

  • Users appreciate proposals and client billing together.

Cons

  • A reviewer reports limited PDF and mobile editing options.
Best for
Client-service firms combining booking and proposal work.
Starting price
$29/month billed annually (Starter)
G2 rating
No G2 rating found

What is HoneyBook?

HoneyBook provides proposals and reusable templates on starter for independent service businesses and boutique agencies, with paid access and plan-level tradeoffs. HoneyBook is a client-facing operations suite with proposals, contracts, invoicing and a portal in one account. The flat plan model fits independent service businesses, though automation and unrestricted team membership require higher tiers.

Category: Proposal Management Software

HoneyBook key features

HoneyBook features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Proposal editor and content controlsProposals and reusable templates on Starter.
Interactive pricingClient package and payment options.
Electronic signingContracts on Starter.
Internal approvalsAutomation from Essentials.
CRM integrationQuickBooks Online integration from Essentials.
Buyer engagement analyticsBasic reporting on Starter.
Pricing modelFixed monthly plan pricing with annual commitment.
Target company sizeIndependent service businesses and boutique agencies.

HoneyBook plans and pricing

HoneyBook plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Starter$29/month billed annuallyowner accountProposals, contracts, invoices, payments and portal
Essentials$49/month billed annuallyup to 2 team membersAutomations and QuickBooks Online integration
Premium$109/month billed annuallyunlimited team membersAdvanced reporting and priority support

US vendor pricing checked 2026-10-28. Ask about taxes, add-ons and send limits.

Who should shortlist HoneyBook

A strong fit for

  • Client-service firms combining booking and proposal work.
  • Owners who need quotes, contracts and invoices in one workspace.
  • Teams wanting a client portal and calendar.

A weak fit for

  • Complex B2B sales organizations requiring enterprise CPQ.
  • Larger teams expecting unlimited members on Starter.

HoneyBook alternatives

  • PandaDocSales teams generating quotes and contracts from templates and CRM data.
  • QwilrSmall and mid-size sales teams that send proposals and quotes and want to see buyer engagement.
  • GetAcceptDeal-room and proposal collaboration.
  • ProposifyGrowing teams that need discount or document approvals.
  • Better ProposalsBudget-conscious agencies that need signing and payments.
  • BonsaiIndependent consultants needing proposals and invoicing together.

Security, admin and compliance

HoneyBook does not publish an SSO entitlement, and SCIM is not stated. Advanced report controls are on Premium, which is the closest item to audit-style visibility. Data residency is not confirmed, no security certifications are listed, and Data Processing Addendum requirements need legal review. Priority support is a Premium feature. Plan and team entitlements differ across tiers, so check the contract against your headcount.

SAML SSO
SSO entitlement not established.
SCIM provisioning
SCIM not stated.
Audit logs
Advanced report controls on Premium.
Data residency
Data residency not confirmed.
Public DPA
DPA requirements need legal review.

Contract and buying terms

Contract
Plan and team entitlements differ across tiers.
Implementation
Free trial advertised without credit card.
Support
Priority support on Premium.
Starting price
$29/month billed annually (Starter)
Pricing model
Flat per plan with team limits.
Free plan or trial
Free trial.

What to test in a HoneyBook demo or trial

Run a real client through Starter: proposal, contract, invoice, payment and the client portal. Test the calendar and booking flow if that is why you are considering it. Try editing on a phone and exporting a PDF, since a reviewer reports limited options in both. Check which plan you need for automations and QuickBooks Online, because those begin at Essentials, and confirm how many team members you can add before the Premium step. The trial needs no credit card, so you can test freely.

Questions to ask HoneyBook before you sign

These are the points HoneyBook's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • Starter already includes proposals and contracts.
  • Essentials adds QuickBooks and two team members.
  • Premium is the first unlimited-team tier.

HoneyBook FAQ

What is HoneyBook used for?

HoneyBook is a client-facing operations suite with proposals, contracts, invoicing and a portal in one account. The flat plan model fits independent service businesses, though automation and unrestricted team membership require higher tiers. It suits client-service firms combining booking and proposal work.

Does HoneyBook support SSO?

HoneyBook does not publish an SSO entitlement, and SCIM is not stated. Ask the vendor if single sign-on is a requirement.

Who is HoneyBook best for?

Independent service businesses and boutique agencies that combine booking and proposal work. Complex B2B sales organizations that need enterprise CPQ should look elsewhere.

Does HoneyBook include a client portal?

Yes. Starter includes proposals, contracts, invoices, payments and a client portal.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from HoneyBook's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (4)
  1. Official pricing and plan comparison (honeybook.com)
  2. Feature documentation (honeybook.com)
  3. Security and privacy information (honeybook.com)
  4. G2 user reviews (g2.com)