Software directory

8 Greenhouse alternatives for 2026

The tools buyers compare with Greenhouse, side by side on price, pricing model and what each one is built for.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Why teams look beyond Greenhouse

  • Limited customization, especially in reporting and scheduling.
  • Steep learning curve and some functionality gaps.
  • Small teams that need a published price or a self-serve start.
  • Buyers who want heavy report and scheduling customization out of the box (a common review complaint)

From Greenhouse's published plan limits and recurring themes in public reviews. See the Greenhouse review for sources.

Greenhouse vs. its alternatives

Greenhouse and alternatives, checked October 24, 2026
ToolPricing modelStarting priceG2 ratingResume parsing and screeningPricing model and real costTarget company size
Greenhouse CurrentcustomContact sales4.4 (3,954 reviews)Quote only; three tiers (Core, Plus, Pro) priced by hiring volume, complexity and features.Mid-size to enterprise (vendor has a dedicated enterprise page); no small-business self-serve price.
LevercustomContact sales4.3 (2,102 reviews)AI screening included in core platform per vendor.Quote only; scales with team size and hiring needs; add-ons quoted separately.Positioned by third-party research as the 'scalable hiring' tier in Employ's lineup (mid-size)
Ashbyflat (by company size tier)$400/month (All-In-One Foundations, up to 100 employees)4.7 (115 reviews)AI credits: 1,500/month on Foundations.Flat price by company size; add-ons for SSO, texting, AI credits, lookups.Startups to enterprise; Foundations up to 100 employees.
SmartRecruiterscustomStarting at $14,995 (Essential), unit/period not stated4.3 (522 reviews)Four tiers; only Essential price published.G2 reviewers note high-volume hiring fit.
iCIMScustomContact sales4.2 (989 reviews)Quote-based.Enterprise and mid-market (third-party)
Workableflat (by employee-count tier)$299/mo (Standard, monthly billing)4.5 (686 reviews)AI screening credits: 1 credit per candidate screened; 3,000 free credits on paid accounts.Flat price by company-size tier, plus AI credits and add-ons.1 to 1000+ employees, priced by tier.
BambooHRper employee$250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that4.4 (5,796 reviews)Per employee per month by tier; flat monthly rate for 25 or fewer employees; add-on modules.Small to mid-size; flat rates tuned to 25 or fewer employees.
Zoho Recruitper userFree (1 active job); paid plans from about $25 per user per month billed annually per third-party sources4.4 (1,847 reviews)Resume management from Standard; AI candidate matching, screening and assessments from Professional.Per user per month, tiered by active job limit.G2 reviewers are 81.8% small business.
JazzHRflat$1,000/yr (Hero, billed annually)4.4 (858 reviews)Flat annual plan by job volume; usage-billed extras.Small business; standard pricing excludes companies over 250 employees.

The alternatives in detail

Lever

Combined ATS and recruiting CRM from Employ, sold on quote-only pricing with AI screening and interview summaries.

Starting price
Contact sales
Pricing model
custom
G2 rating
4.3 (2,102 reviews)
Resume parsing and screening
AI screening included in core platform per vendor.
Pricing model and real cost
Quote only; scales with team size and hiring needs; add-ons quoted separately.
Target company size
Positioned by third-party research as the 'scalable hiring' tier in Employ's lineup (mid-size)

Choose it if

  • Teams that want ATS and sourcing CRM in one tool.
  • Mid-size companies already in the Employ family (Jobvite, JazzHR) looking for a step-up tier.

Skip it if

  • Buyers who need published pricing.
  • Teams that need native SCIM provisioning (none reported on any plan)

Worth knowing

  • Owned by Employ Inc. (with Jobvite and JazzHR) since 2022; G2 lists Employ as the vendor.
  • Third-party guide says SAML SSO is Enterprise only and must be enabled via Lever Support; treat as unconfirmed.
  • No native SCIM on any plan per the same third-party guide (a connector from Aquera is the described route).

Ashby

All-in-one ATS, scheduling, sourcing and analytics platform popular with fast-growing tech companies, priced $400/month for startups up to 100 employees.

Starting price
$400/month (All-In-One Foundations, up to 100 employees)
Pricing model
flat (by company size tier)
G2 rating
4.7 (115 reviews)
Resume parsing and screening
AI credits: 1,500/month on Foundations.
Interview scheduling
Advanced Scheduling is a paid add-on.
Careers page and candidate experience
Up to 5 brands on Foundations, unlimited on Plus and Enterprise.
Pricing model and real cost
Flat price by company size; add-ons for SSO, texting, AI credits, lookups.

Choose it if

  • Startups up to 100 employees wanting one published monthly price.
  • Tech-forward teams that want analytics and sourcing in the ATS.

Skip it if

  • Buyers needing SSO included in base price (paid add-on)
  • Teams needing confirmed EU data residency.

Worth knowing

  • SSO is a paid add-on at $100/month; Ashby supports SAML and OIDC and has no password login.
  • Foundations includes 1 offer template, up to 3 custom permission roles and 200 sourcing email lookups.
  • Extra candidate texts cost $90 per 1,000.

SmartRecruiters

Enterprise-leaning ATS now owned by SAP, with a published entry price of $14,995 and quote-only higher tiers.

Starting price
Starting at $14,995 (Essential), unit/period not stated
Pricing model
custom
G2 rating
4.3 (522 reviews)
HRIS and background check integrations
Interoperable with SAP SuccessFactors and other HCM suites (SAP statement)
Pricing model and real cost
Four tiers; only Essential price published.
Target company size
G2 reviewers note high-volume hiring fit.

Choose it if

  • High-volume and mid-market to enterprise hiring.
  • SAP SuccessFactors customers.

Skip it if

  • Small teams with sub-$15k budgets.
  • Buyers who want self-serve monthly plans.

Worth knowing

  • SAP completed the acquisition on 2025-09-11.
  • SmartRecruiters stays a standalone product usable with non-SAP HCMs per SAP.
  • Essential tier starts at $14,995 on the vendor page, rare for enterprise ATS.

iCIMS

Enterprise talent acquisition suite, privately held, with no public prices and separate implementation fees.

Starting price
Contact sales
Pricing model
custom
G2 rating
4.2 (989 reviews)
Pricing model and real cost
Quote-based.
Target company size
Enterprise and mid-market (third-party)

Choose it if

  • Large employers with complex high-volume hiring.
  • Teams with budget for implementation services.

Skip it if

  • Small businesses needing self-serve pricing.
  • Teams wanting quick setup (steep learning curve per G2)

Worth knowing

  • Founded 2000 by Colin Day; Vista Equity Partners acquired it in August 2018.
  • Marc Thompson named CEO in May 2026 per Wikipedia mirror (unverified)
  • Third-party sources cite implementation fees of $15,000 to $25,000.

Workable

Recruiting platform with published monthly prices by company-size tier and AI credit packs for sourcing and screening.

Starting price
$299/mo (Standard, monthly billing)
Pricing model
flat (by employee-count tier)
G2 rating
4.5 (686 reviews)
Resume parsing and screening
AI screening credits: 1 credit per candidate screened; 3,000 free credits on paid accounts.
Pricing model and real cost
Flat price by company-size tier, plus AI credits and add-ons.
Target company size
1 to 1000+ employees, priced by tier.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams that want a published price and a 15-day trial.
  • Teams that want video interviews, texting and assessments bundled in higher tiers.

Skip it if

  • Teams that need SSO plan detail confirmed before buying.
  • Heavy AI-sourcing users who dislike credit-based add-ons.

Worth knowing

  • Price depends on employee-count tier, not seats; the same plan costs more as the company grows.
  • Standard add-ons: Texting+ $89/mo, Video interviews+ $109/mo, Assessments+ $59/mo, Performance & Engagement+ $39/mo; these are included on Premier and Enterprise.
  • AI credit bundles: 5,000 for $600, 10,000 for $1,000, 50,000 for $4,750; credits expire after 1 year and are non-refundable.

BambooHR

Per-employee HRIS for small and mid-size US companies with a built-in ATS capped by job openings per tier.

Starting price
$250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that
Pricing model
per employee
G2 rating
4.4 (5,796 reviews)
Pricing model and real cost
Per employee per month by tier; flat monthly rate for 25 or fewer employees; add-on modules.
Target company size
Small to mid-size; flat rates tuned to 25 or fewer employees.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size US companies that want HRIS first and light recruiting in the same system.
  • Teams of 25 or fewer that benefit from the flat monthly rate.

Skip it if

  • Companies that need a full-featured standalone ATS (openings capped 5, 25 or 50 by tier)
  • Teams needing deep reporting or customization (common complaint)

Worth knowing

  • Job openings are capped by tier: 5 (Core), 25 (Pro), 50 (Elite); the ATS is a feature, not a separate add-on.
  • Companies with 25 or fewer employees pay flat $250, $425 or $650 per month.
  • Payroll and Benefits Administration are US-only add-ons; bundling both saves 15% per the pricing page.

Zoho Recruit

Low-cost, per-recruiter ATS from Zoho with a free tier and separate staffing-agency and corporate HR editions.

Starting price
Free (1 active job); paid plans from about $25 per user per month billed annually per third-party sources
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (1,847 reviews)
Job multiposting
Free job boards on Free plan; premium job boards from Standard.
Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration
Candidate management, email management and talent pipeline; assignment rules from Professional.
Resume parsing and screening
Resume management from Standard; AI candidate matching, screening and assessments from Professional.
Interview scheduling
Interview scheduling included even on Free plan; video interviews are a paid add-on.

Choose it if

  • Small teams and agencies that want a per-recruiter price with a free one-job plan.
  • Companies already running Zoho CRM or Zoho One.

Skip it if

  • Teams that need published SSO or SCIM details before buying.
  • Enterprises that want a dedicated enterprise-grade ATS with deep compliance tooling.

Worth knowing

  • Free plan allows only 1 active job posting.
  • 15-day trial gives full Enterprise access then drops to Free without data loss.
  • Premium Support (faster response, dedicated account manager), data migration, video interviews and the Customer Portal are paid add-ons.

JazzHR

Low-cost annual-plan ATS for small businesses, with a stated eligibility cap of about 250 employees.

Starting price
$1,000/yr (Hero, billed annually)
Pricing model
flat
G2 rating
4.4 (858 reviews)
Job multiposting
Premium listings and syndication to more job boards available; posting limits by plan.
Pricing model and real cost
Flat annual plan by job volume; usage-billed extras.
Target company size
Small business; standard pricing excludes companies over 250 employees.

Choose it if

  • Small businesses that want a published annual price.
  • Teams that want quick setup and ease of use.

Skip it if

  • Staffing or recruiting agencies, franchises, multi-location businesses and companies over 250 employees (excluded from standard pricing at JazzHR's discretion)
  • Buyers who want monthly billing or deep customization.

Worth knowing

  • Eligibility rules exclude agencies, franchises, multi-location businesses and companies over 250 employees from standard pricing.
  • Offers & eSignatures is an add-on on Plus; the pricing page is inconsistent about whether Pro includes it.
  • SSO is a paid add-on at $29/month on Hero, Plus or Pro (JazzHR blog/info page).

When to stay with Greenhouse

  • Mid-size and enterprise teams that want structured interviews, scorecards and deep integrations.
  • Companies that need an audit log and configurable session time-outs (Pro tier only)