Software directory

8 1Password alternatives for 2026

The tools buyers compare with 1Password, side by side on price, pricing model and what each one is built for.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Why teams look beyond 1Password

  • Higher price than alternatives.
  • Secret Key setup friction for some users.
  • Teams needing a free business tier or self-hosting.
  • Budget buyers: Business costs about twice Bitwarden Teams.

From 1Password's published plan limits and recurring themes in public reviews. See the 1Password review for sources.

1Password vs. its alternatives

1Password and alternatives, checked October 24, 2026
ToolPricing modelStarting priceG2 ratingShared vaults and permissionsSSO and directory syncAdmin console and reportingEncryption and security record
1Password Currentper user$24.95 per month for up to 10 members (Teams Starter Pack, $299.40/yr)4.6 (1,808 reviews)Shared vaults with group permissions (Business)Unlock with SSO via Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin, Duo on Business; user and group provisioning listed on Business page.Custom business reports on account activity; Events Reporting streams to SIEM.SOC 2 Type 2 listed on pricing comparison.
Bitwardenper userFree organization plan; Teams $4 per user per month4.6 (1,342 reviews)Collections and unlimited sharing in organization (Teams)SAML 2.0/OIDC SSO for Enterprise organizations; SCIM listed on Teams page.Event logs and API (Teams)Open source, end-to-end encrypted; certifications not verified.
Dashlaneper user$2 per seat/month (Starter, third-party reported)4.5 (615 reviews)Shared collections and group sharing (not verified)SSO supported per expertinsights.com review; SCIM not confirmed.Zero-knowledge design (vendor claim, not re-verified)
Keeper Securityper user$2 per user/month (Business Starter, third-party reported)4.6 (1,179 reviews)Shared folders and records (vendor product, details not re-verified)SSO/SAML and SCIM listed on the Enterprise plan.Advanced Reporting & Alerts and Compliance Reporting sold as add-ons.Zero-knowledge, end-to-end encryption; FedRAMP High, ISO 27001/27017/27018, SOC 2, FIPS 140-3 listed.
NordPassper user$1.79 per user/month (Teams, 2-year plan, Cybernews)4.5 (638 reviews)Google Workspace SSO on Teams per Cybernews; SCIM not confirmed.
LastPassper user$4 per user/month (Teams, billed annually)4.4 (1,962 reviews)Business: SSO for 3 apps, directory integrations (Okta, Entra ID); Business Max: unlimited SSO. SCIM not named.2022 breach exposed encrypted vault backups and metadata; ICO fined LastPass 1.2M GBP in December 2025.
Proton Passper user$1.99 per user/month (Pass Essentials, billed annually)No G2 rating foundGroup sharing on Professional.SSO listed under Pass Professional; SCIM not stated.Detailed activity logs and enterprise policies on Professional.End-to-end encrypted; ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA pages linked.
RoboFormper userFrom about $39.95 per user per year (third-party reported; business tiers drop with team size)4.6 (749 reviews)Shared folders with role-based access reported by third-party review; not verified on vendor docs.SSO and SCIM listed; SCIM options reported for Okta, OneLogin and Microsoft Entra ID (eSecurityPlanet)
Uniqkeyper userContact sales4.4 (140 reviews)Secure password sharing, group management.SCIM 2.0 listed; SSO not mentioned.Audit log, security scores, verified domains.ISO 27001 certified, EU-hosted (OMR)

The alternatives in detail

Bitwarden

Open-source password manager with low per-user Teams and Enterprise prices, a free organization tier and self-hosting.

Starting price
Free organization plan; Teams $4 per user per month
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (1,342 reviews)
Shared vaults and permissions
Collections and unlimited sharing in organization (Teams)
SSO and directory sync
SAML 2.0/OIDC SSO for Enterprise organizations; SCIM listed on Teams page.
Admin console and reporting
Event logs and API (Teams)
Encryption and security record
Open source, end-to-end encrypted; certifications not verified.

Choose it if

  • Budget-conscious teams: $4 per user per month for Teams.
  • Companies wanting self-hosting (Enterprise)
  • Open-source preference.

Skip it if

  • Buyers wanting the most polished UX.
  • Teams that need SSO but want the cheapest plan (SSO is Enterprise only)

Worth knowing

  • SSO is on Enterprise ($6) only, so SSO costs 50% more than Teams.
  • Self-hosting is an Enterprise capability.
  • Free organization plan exists.

Dashlane

Business password manager with shared vaults, admin policy controls and phishing-alert style monitoring, sold in Starter, Team and Business tiers.

Starting price
$2 per seat/month (Starter, third-party reported)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.5 (615 reviews)
Shared vaults and permissions
Shared collections and group sharing (not verified)
SSO and directory sync
SSO supported per expertinsights.com review; SCIM not confirmed.
Encryption and security record
Zero-knowledge design (vendor claim, not re-verified)
Pricing model
Per seat per month, tiered Starter/Team/Business.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams that want a polished employee-facing app.
  • Companies that want SSO-based login in a mainstream tier.

Skip it if

  • Teams that need transparent public pricing without a call or checkout.
  • Organizations needing privileged access management.

Worth knowing

  • Dashlane does not publish current business pricing and third-party tier prices disagree, so get a written quote.
  • Dashlane's own 2022 one-sheet lists Business at $8 per user/month; newer tier names (Starter, Team) come only from reviews.
  • Gartner Peer Insights lists Dashlane Business at 4.6 from 152 ratings.

Keeper Security

Zero-knowledge business password manager that scales into a privileged access management suite, with the most compliance certifications of this group.

Starting price
$2 per user/month (Business Starter, third-party reported)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (1,179 reviews)
Shared vaults and permissions
Shared folders and records (vendor product, details not re-verified)
SSO and directory sync
SSO/SAML and SCIM listed on the Enterprise plan.
Admin console and reporting
Advanced Reporting & Alerts and Compliance Reporting sold as add-ons.
Encryption and security record
Zero-knowledge, end-to-end encryption; FedRAMP High, ISO 27001/27017/27018, SOC 2, FIPS 140-3 listed.

Choose it if

  • Regulated or government-adjacent buyers needing FedRAMP, FIPS 140-3 or HIPAA alignment.
  • Teams that expect to add PAM or secrets management later.

Skip it if

  • Buyers who want a flat published price for SSO.
  • Very small teams wanting the cheapest possible per-seat cost.

Worth knowing

  • SSO/SAML and SCIM sit on the Enterprise plan per the pricing page.
  • Reporting, session management, SIEM and credential rotation are paid add-ons without published prices.
  • Starter targets 5 to 10 users.

NordPass

Business password manager from Nord Security with low per-user prices on Teams, Business and Enterprise tiers.

Starting price
$1.79 per user/month (Teams, 2-year plan, Cybernews)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.5 (638 reviews)
SSO and directory sync
Google Workspace SSO on Teams per Cybernews; SCIM not confirmed.
Pricing model
Per user per month, discount for 1-2 year commitments.
Target company size
SMB to enterprise.

Choose it if

  • Cost-focused SMBs on Google Workspace.
  • Teams that want a simple vault with admin settings.

Skip it if

  • Buyers who need published SCIM details.
  • Teams needing PAM.

Worth knowing

  • Longer commitments cut the per-user price (2-year plan cheapest per Cybernews)
  • Teams tier reportedly includes Google Workspace SSO.
  • SCIM support not confirmed.

LastPass

Long-established business password manager with Teams, Business and Business Max tiers, still carrying the reputational weight of its 2022 breach.

Starting price
$4 per user/month (Teams, billed annually)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (1,962 reviews)
SSO and directory sync
Business: SSO for 3 apps, directory integrations (Okta, Entra ID); Business Max: unlimited SSO. SCIM not named.
Encryption and security record
2022 breach exposed encrypted vault backups and metadata; ICO fined LastPass 1.2M GBP in December 2025.
Dark web and breach monitoring
Dark web monitoring features in Business Max (AI/Web monitoring)
Pricing model
Per user per month billed annually.

Choose it if

  • Teams already on LastPass wanting familiar admin tooling.
  • Small groups up to 50 users on the Teams tier.

Skip it if

  • Buyers for whom the 2022 breach and UK ICO fine are disqualifying.
  • Teams needing SSO in the cheapest tier.

Worth knowing

  • Business SSO is limited to 3 apps; unlimited needs Business Max.
  • Teams is capped at 50 users.
  • UK ICO fined LastPass 1.2M GBP over the 2022 breach (theregister.com, Dec 2025)

Proton Pass

Swiss end-to-end encrypted password manager with business plans from Pass Essentials to the full Proton Workspace bundle.

Starting price
$1.99 per user/month (Pass Essentials, billed annually)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
No G2 rating found
Shared vaults and permissions
Group sharing on Professional.
SSO and directory sync
SSO listed under Pass Professional; SCIM not stated.
Admin console and reporting
Detailed activity logs and enterprise policies on Professional.
Passkey and MFA support
Passkey support on Essentials and up.

Choose it if

  • Privacy-first teams in Europe.
  • Small teams wanting email aliases and built-in 2FA.

Skip it if

  • Enterprises needing PAM.
  • Buyers needing a G2 track record.

Worth knowing

  • 3-user minimum on both Pass business plans.
  • SSO, activity logs and SIEM only on Professional.
  • Pricing page showed promotional discounts, so list price may rise.

RoboForm

A long-running password manager from Siber Systems with a low per-user business price and form-filling as its signature feature.

Starting price
From about $39.95 per user per year (third-party reported; business tiers drop with team size)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (749 reviews)
Shared vaults and permissions
Shared folders with role-based access reported by third-party review; not verified on vendor docs.
SSO and directory sync
SSO and SCIM listed; SCIM options reported for Okta, OneLogin and Microsoft Entra ID (eSecurityPlanet)
Pricing model
Per user per year, tiered by team size.
Target company size
SMB to mid-size; custom quotes above 1,000 users.

Choose it if

  • Small teams that want a cheap per-user business password manager.
  • Teams that rely on web form autofill.

Skip it if

  • Enterprises needing a verified deep audit trail and PAM.
  • Buyers who need public vendor-confirmed SSO/SCIM plan details before a trial.

Worth knowing

  • Price per user falls as team size grows (reported $39.95 for 1-10 users to $29.95 for 101-1000)
  • Over 1,000 users requires a custom quote.
  • Entry personal price on G2 is $39.95 per year.

Uniqkey

Danish EU-hosted business password and access manager sold as one bundled quote-based package.

Starting price
Contact sales
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (140 reviews)
Shared vaults and permissions
Secure password sharing, group management.
SSO and directory sync
SCIM 2.0 listed; SSO not mentioned.
Admin console and reporting
Audit log, security scores, verified domains.
Passkey and MFA support
Passkeys supported.

Choose it if

  • European companies wanting EU-only hosting.
  • Teams wanting phone support and a customer success manager.

Skip it if

  • Buyers needing public pricing.
  • US-centric teams.

Worth knowing

  • Single bundled price, no tiers.
  • Includes dedicated CSM and 99.9% uptime SLA per pricing page.
  • EU-only hosting per OMR.

When to stay with 1Password

  • Small teams of up to 20 via the Starter Pack.
  • Companies wanting SSO unlock with Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin or Duo.
  • Teams that value polished apps.